Accountability *or* I Really Friggin’ Don’t Wanna Do This Tonight

19 09 2010

Current Habit: Reading, day 7

Deryn: This has been a rough few days in the Habitual Me arena.  Sophie has stayed with Boyfriend two nights this week and it was my responsibility to keep myself accountable for maintaining my reading.  There hasn’t been anyone to tell me, “Ok! It’s time to go read!”  Even when it’s been me instigating the reading time, having someone else here just acknowledging that I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing is helpful.  The nights where I’m here alone bring up the thought, “Who would know?”  I have been staring at my computer screen for 6 hours trying to get caught up on a work project that I am being held completely accountable for.  This work project is my main focus, my idea, my professional reputation within the company.  The idea of making my eyes focus on anything besides the inside of my eyelids is enough to make me angry.  Then I hear Sophie’s voice in my head saying, “But, you would know…”  Yes, I would know.  And that is why I turned off the tv and went to read for my 30 minutes.  I didn’t want to, but I did it.  So there.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

